METALLICA S&M (1999) (ELEKTRA) (21 TRACKS) 128 Kbps MP3 ALBUM | Music | Rock


METALLICA S&M (1999) (ELEKTRA) (21 TRACKS) 128 Kbps MP3 ALBUM mp3-album-00406
In Stock
$ 14.79 USD
Buy and Download   > Description

S&M (1999) (ELEKTRA) (21 TRACKS) 128 Kbps MP3 ALBUM

Album Description:

As the strains of Ennio Morricone's "The Ecstasy of Gold" filled the Berkeley Community Theater, metal heads and classical music enthusiasts were both in for a special evening - where many previous rock/classical collaborations had failed, one of the world's top selling acts and the San Francisco Symphony delivered the goods.

S&M (an abbreviation of SYMPHONY AND METALLICA) is a live album by the American heavy metal band Metallica, with the San Francisco Symphony conducted by Michael Kamen (who succeeded in putting a new spin on the band's material as he did on Metallica's self-titled 1991 release). S&M contains performances of Metallica songs with additional symphonic accompaniment, which was composed by Michael Kamen, who also conducted the orchestra during the concert. The idea to combine heavy metal with an epic classical approach, as James Hetfield has stated repeatedly, was an idea of Cliff Burton. Burton’s love of classical music, especially of Johann Sebastian Bach, can be traced back to many instrumental parts and melodic characteristics in Metallica’s songwriting including songs from RIDE THE LIGHTNING and MASTER OF PUPPETS. The other inspiration was Deep Purple's 1969 CONCERTO FOR GROUP AND ORCHESTRA. Purple revived their hybrid musical performance in 1999's LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL after being notified that Metallica were doing theirs earlier that year.

"The Call of Ktulu," a track that had never before been performed live, was fated for a debut such as this. The epic instrumental, given added depth by the charts of Michael Kamen, is nothing short of bombastic. The same applies to the speed-metal classic "Master of Puppets." The anti-war anthem "One" seems as if it had been made for the classical treatment it receives here. The balance among guitar, drums, strings, and brass makes for a winning sound. "Hero of the Day" works very well, with its melodic tone enhanced by the symphony.

In addition to songs from previous albums spanning RIDE THE LIGHTNING through RELOAD, two new compositions are debuted on S&M: "No Leaf Clover" and "Human" - tracks, that will make for an interesting comparison to their studio versions. "No Leaf Clover" has since been performed by Metallica in concert, using a recording of the orchestral prelude. "Human", credited as "Minus Human", was included in the soundtrack of the ELECTRONIC ARTS GAME NHL 99, but has never subsequently been performed. Several other songs, including "Wasting My Hate", "The Unforgiven", and "Fade to Black", were considered for selection, but were eventually dropped as it was decided by both Metallica and Kamen that they were not well suited for symphonic accompaniment. On the S&M DVD documentary, Metallica and Kamen can be seen and heard discussing the orchestration for the Anti-Nowhere League and Metallica favourite cover-song "So What?", though it's obvious both parties were enjoying a good joke and had no intentions of performing the song.

Changes were made to the lyrics of some songs, most notably the removal of the second verse and chorus of "The Thing That Should Not Be" and playing the third verse in its place. "The Ecstasy of Gold" by Ennio Morricone, Metallica's entrance music, was played live by the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. The "S" in the stylized "S&M" on the album cover is a backwards treble clef, while the "M" is taken from Metallica's logo. This is the final Metallica album to feature Jason Newsted as bassist.

"The Call Of Ktulu" won the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.

Recorded live at The Berkeley Community Theater, Berkeley, California, U.S.A. on April 21 and 22, 1999.

Metallica: James Hetfield (vocals, guitar); Kirk Hammett (guitar); Jason Newsted (bass); Lars Ulrich (drums).

Track Listing:

1. The Ecstasy Of Gold - 2:30   
2. The Call Of Ktulu - 9:34   
3. Master Of Puppets - 8:54   
4. Of Wolf And Man - 4:18   
5. The Thing That Should Not Be - 7:26   
6. Fuel - 4:35   
7. The Memory Remains - 4:42   
8. No Leaf Clover - 5:43   
9. Hero Of The Day - 4:44   
10. Devil's Dance - 5:26   
11. Bleeding Me - 9:01   
12. Nothing Else Matters - 6:47   
13. Until It Sleeps - 4:29   
14. For Whom The Bell Tolls - 4:52   
15. Human - 4:19   
16. Wherever I May Roam - 7:01   
17. Outlaw Torn - 9:58   
18. Sad But True - 5:46   
19. One - 7:53   
20. Enter Sandman - 7:39   
21. Battery - 7:24

Includes supplimental "Complete Album Info" text file.
METALLICA S&M (1999) (ELEKTRA) (21 TRACKS) 128 Kbps MP3 ALBUM S&M (1999) (ELEKTRA) (21 TRACKS) 128 Kbps MP3 ALBUMMetallica Album Description: As the strains of Ennio Morricone's "The Ecstasy of Gold" filled the Berkeley Community Theater, metal he
Recent Reviews Write a Review
0 0 0 0 reviews